Revolution Slider Error: Slider with alias slider10 not found.
Maybe you mean: 'homepagefull' or '2016-home' or '2017-home'

The NMI Awards 2015 Finalists 

This year’s awards feature several new categories and a record number of entries were received from a huge array of organisations large and small.

More than 20 judges deliberated over entries to select the shortlist.


The winners will be announced at the prestigious NMI Gala Dinner & Awards ceremony at the Grange Tower Bridge Hotel, London on Thursday, November 19.


The Young Engineer of the Year award

Sponsored by


The Young Engineer Award publically celebrates and promotes the efforts of young professionals at the early stages of their careers.


  • Jason Good – IQE
  • Marie-Anne Le Menn – Freescale
  • Tom Carter – Ultrahaptics
  • Vladislav Vasilev – Dialog Semiconductor
  • Meenal Kulkarni – sureCore
  • Jonathan Austin – ARM

The Innovation Award

Sponsored by


This award is given to a company that can demonstrate a significant business impact through innovation.  This can cover any aspects of innovation whether in business process, manufacturing, service provision or product development.



  • Element Six Technologies
  • Cascoda
  • Kaiam Europe Limited
  • Argon Design
  • Patina Lighting

The Emerging Technology Company of the Year Award

Sponsored by


This is a brand new award for 2015. It honours a growing company showing excellent progress – demonstrating impressive growth in areas such as revenue, headcount, innovation, investment and/or market traction as success indicators.



  • Ultrahaptics
  • Blu Wireless
  • PragmatIC
  • Cambridge CMOS Sensors

The Silicon to Software Award

Sponsored by

synopsys logo

To recognise innovative and novel semiconductor systems (integrating SoC, IP and software) designs that deliver right-first-time functionality across the hardware and software whilst accelerating time to market via virtual and rapid prototyping HW/SW co-design and co-verification.



  • Movidius
  • DisplayLink
  • Freescale

The More than Moore Award

Sponsored by


For 50 years Moore’s Law has been the bell-weather of the semiconductor industry doubling the number of transistors in any given area every 18 months.  With state-of-the-art dimensions now measured in nanometres and the cost of production plant now measured in $Billions, Moore’s law scaling is largely predicted to be nearing its limits.



  • EoPlex
  • Analog Devices
  • RFMOD Ltd
  • Mentor Graphics

The Automotive Electronics Innovation & Excellence Award

Sponsored by


In today’s intensely competitive Automotive market, it is absolutely essential that new innovative products enable end user requirements of functionality and safety within a tight window of market opportunity while meeting exceptionally high quality and reliability standards.



  • Peratech
  • Freescale
  • Rohde & Schwarz UK Ltd
  • Mentor Graphics Mechanical Analysis Division

The Research Collaboration Award

Sponsored by


This Award will celebrate innovative R&D activity involving strong Industry and Academic collaboration and completed within the last two years.  It should ideally demonstrate “World beating” technology development with very high potential of being adopted by industry.  However, the judges will recognise the R&D life-cycle and appreciate the time from discovery to implementation of new technology.



  • UltraSoc
  • e2v technologies
  • IQE
  • Raytheon
  • Ricardo UK Ltd

The Product of the Year Award

Sponsored by


In today’s intensely competitive markets for electronics products, it is absolutely essential that new products enable exciting capabilities within a tight window of market opportunity while meeting exceptionally high quality and reliability standards.



  • XMOS
  • Plessey Semiconductor
  • Lascar Electronics
  • Cambridge CMOS Sensors
  • ByteSnap Design & Infotec
  • Xilinx

The University Research Group of the Year Award

Sponsored by


This award is focused on university research groups that demonstrate excellent liaison & partnership with industry.



  • Edinburgh Centre for Robotics
  • University of Southampton ARM-ECS Research Centre
  • University of Glasgow BEST Group

The UKESF Scholar of the Year Award

Sponsored by

This award is open to undergraduate students in receipt of a UKESF Scholarship.


  • Dominic Maskell – Selex
  • Joshua Oldfield – ARM

We will also be announcing the winners of the following awards on the night:

  • The Company of the Year Award
  • The Contribution to Industry Award
  • The Manufacturing Supplier of the Year Award
  • The Manufacturing Site of the Year Award